The Reading Agency

Donate now
Tackling life's big challenges through the proven power of reading

Resources

Sign up » Sign up to the Chatterbooks network and the monthly newsletter

Latest offers » Offers and competitions from children’s publishers

More info » Find out more about Chatterbooks reading clubs for children

Buy Chatterbooks materials » Schools’ starter packs – welcome packs for children and group leaders’ toolkits

04 August 2022

Five Minutes Peace downloadable storytelling tips

Parents everywhere will understand the plight of poor Mrs Large. All she wants is five minutes’ peace and quiet away from her boisterous children! So, taking refuge in the bathroom, she fills herself a hot, foamy bubble bath and takes...

04 August 2022

Latest opportunities from our publisher partners for schools and libraries - author visits, free sets of books and POS packs!

If you have a reading group with children or work in a school or library – we have some fantastic opportunities for you! We have free author visits for the autumn, 100s of books for children and young people reading...

19 July 2022

'PESTS' Teaching Resources

In this resource pack for KS2 Teachers, you will find a range of activities for subjects including creative writing, drama, art, design & technology, and PSHE, linking to the three books in the PESTS series. About the Books When the lights...

19 July 2022

'The Dragon in the Bookshop' Teachers' Notes

Use these Teachers’ Notes for ‘The Dragon in the Bookshop’ to help guide conversation in your classroom about the book and further discuss the themes. About the Book The Dragon in the Bookshopby Ewa Jozefkowicz An old Polish city fizzes with fear. The...

19 July 2022

'How to Catch a Rainbow' Teachers Notes

Explore the themes of ‘How to Catch a Rainbow’ with your Year One, Reception or Early Years class with these Teachers Notes from Oxford Children’s Books. Includes activities for whole class and smaller groups, all linked to the National Curriculum. About...

17 July 2022

Big Bright Feelings series by Tom Percival - digital pack

Bloomsbury Children’s Books has created an activity pack to promote Tom Percival’s Big Bright Feelings series, including the latest title, Milo’s Monster! Tom Percival’s Big Bright Feelings series is the perfect springboard for talking about mental and emotional health, positive self-image,...

07 July 2022

Read Between the Lies by Malcolm Duffy - Teachers' Resources

Two very different boys, one new family, a shared struggle and a big secret. Tommy is talented, cool, a young offender, and dyslexic. Ryan is smart, uncool, well-behaved, and dyslexic. The two develop an unlikely friendship. As Ryan helps Tommy to read, a secret...

01 July 2022

National Reading Group Day Chatterbooks pack

In this Chatterbooks activity pack you’ll find some great suggestions for Chatterbooks groups to celebrate National Reading Group Day together. National Reading Group Day is on 14 September, but you can use the pack at any time. The activities are...

23 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails additional apps and ideas

Additional apps and ideas for StoryTrails x Summer Reading Challenge activities Download Other SRCxST Resources Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Schools Activity Toolkit Welsh Get Immersive with the Gadgeteers Activity Toolkit Welsh Additional Resources and Activities Welsh Get Immersive...

23 June 2022

Summer Reading Challenge x StoryTrails

StoryTrails is a unique, immersive storytelling experience. It aims to allow local people to experience their town in a completely new way through immersive technology, including augmented and virtual reality. People will be able to use this new technology to...

16 June 2022

Join the adventure club with Jess Butterworth - activity pack

Join the adventure club this summer and embark on the journey of a lifetime. Instil a love of reading and adventure with your class with this fantastic series by much-loved author Jess Butterworth – writer of classic adventure stories in vibrantly...

15 June 2022

When I See Blue by Lily Bailey – Teaching Resources

An unforgettable, heartfelt story about life with OCD and the unique power of friendship, from inspiring author and mental health activist, Lily Bailey. Perfect for readers of A Kind of Spark and The Goldfish Boy. About the Book New town, new school,...

16 May 2022

The Amazing Edie Eckhart by Rosie Jones - Classroom Resources

The Amazing Edie Eckhart is the start of a brand-new middle grade series from comedian and writer Rosie Jones, featuring a funny, feisty central character who just happens to have cerebral palsy – like Rosie herself. Rosie was inspired to...

10 May 2022

All About Us series - Digital pack for teachers and librarians

The All About Us series are perfect for KS1 children. The digital pack is the perfect resource for citizenship lessons around mental health, diversity and starting conversations on those topics. You can find out more information here.

05 May 2022

Love Being You Children’s Mental Health Week - POS pack and digital resources

Love Being You by Beth Cox and Natalie Costa, Illustrated by Vicky Barker The ideal series for Children’s Mental Health Week, LEVEL HEADERS is designed to help children aged 6-9 learn about their mental health in a positive framework, with no...

05 May 2022

The Usborne Unworry Pack

The Usborne Unworry Pack is a collection of fun, mindful activities to help children and adults UNWORRY. It’s full of things to calm you down and distract you, and places where you can put your worries, instead of letting them...

22 February 2022

Loki: A Bad God’s Guide to Being Good – digital pack and book trailer

Loki: A Bad God’s Guide to Being Good – digital pack (9+) Packed with doodles and cartoons, this is the wry, witty and very funny diary of Norse god Loki and the trials of being trapped on Earth as a weedy...

17 January 2022

Lift-the-Flap Questions and Answers about Racism - digital resources

Racism is such a hard topic to talk about, but impossible to ignore. Discover the answers to some difficult questions – and become part of the solution – with Usborne’s brilliant Lift-the-Flap Questions and Answers about Racism. From ‘What does racism...

17 November 2021

The Night the Moon Went Missing by Brendan Kearney - author video

DK are over the moon that The Night the Moon Went Missing has been selected as the Children’s Indie Book of the Month for November and we want to celebrate this with libraries and schools across the UK. Meet Moon and...

17 November 2021

Fireborn by Aisling Fowler - Teaching Resources

Set in the snowy northern forests of an imagined prehistoric world, Fireborn is the middle-grade debut of the decade. At turns exciting, funny and heart wrenchingly sad, it marks the introduction of an unstoppable new voice in children’s storytelling. Twelve has...

01 November 2021

The Burpee Bears by Joe Wicks and Paul Howard - digital pack

Meet the Burpee Bears in this glorious picture book created by “the Nation’s Favourite PE Teacher”, Joe Wicks! For this bear family, every day is a new day: a day for adventure and discovery, and true to Joe’s ethos, each book...

29 October 2021

Mr. Men Little Miss and Winnie-the-Pooh - digital pack

Join in on Farshore’s unmissable anniversary celebrations for two of the best loved and most celebrated children’s brands, marking 50 years of the Mr. Men Little Miss and 95 years of Winnie-the-Pooh. Help celebrate Winnie-the-Pooh’s anniversary with Winnie-the-Pooh: Once There Was...

26 October 2021

The Chime Seekers by Ross Montgomery - digital resources (Teachers' Notes and Discussion Guide)

Step into a world of faerie tricks and hidden danger… When an evil faerie steals Yanni’s baby sister and swaps her for a Changeling, Yanni is swept into a dangerous race against time to get her back. For faeries delight in tricks...

25 October 2021

The Boy With Wings by Lenny Henry and Kennon Ferrell - Digital Resources (including comic activity)!

Let Your Imagination Fly: The Boy With Wings Macmillan Children’s Books are excited to introduce The Boy With Wings, the new children’s book by comedy legend, Lenny Henry for readers of 9 to 12. Illustrated throughout by Keenon Ferrell, it includes...

06 October 2021

Ten Minutes to Bedtime series - activity pack

No.1 bestselling Ten Minutes to Bed series has been written specifically to help little ones settle down for bedtime. This bestselling bedtime series has sold one million copies worldwide! Follow the loveable characters as they go on adventures and have lots...

04 October 2021

The Wall by Jessie James and Catalina Echeverri - Teaching Notes

Tom is a little boy who LOVES to explore. But, one day, he hears the grown-ups talking about the monsters that live in the big, wide world and he is too scared to explore anymore. Soon, they build a giant...

02 October 2021

Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler - digital pack

Happy Birthday, Room on the Broom! We’re celebrating 20 years since the publication of the wonderful Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler. The witch and her cat fly happily over forests, rivers and mountains on their broomstick until...

30 September 2021

Rules for Vampires by Alex Foulkes and Sara Ogilvie - digital pack

Straighten your cape and sharpen your claws… being a vampire is harder than it looks! There are highs and lows to being a vampire. On one claw, you get cool powers like beastly strength and hypnotism and the ability to Grimwalk. On...

30 September 2021

Shadowghast by Thomas Taylor - Discussion Guide

A creepy magician with a shadowy act. A legend that goes back to the dawn of time. Eerie-on-Sea just got stranger. And darker… On the eve of Ghastly Night, a hypnotic stage magician, Caliastra, checks in to Eerie-on-Sea’s Grand Nautilus Hotel....

27 September 2021

Celebrate Libraries Week with Walker Books - digital resource

Join in the celebrations for Libraries Week with our special library themed double sided poster featuring illustrations from Moose’s Book Bus, an homage to storytime, libraries and community by Inga Moore, one of the most acclaimed children’s bookmakers working today,...